Development

This Is How Quy Contributes to Vietnam’s Development

Having taken a break from blogging in order to focus on my undergrad thesis, I am finally here. As a comeback, this post is dedicated to summarize a very meaningful discussion with Quy, a young Vietnamese lecturer and a head of environmental project; an excellent woman indeed.

Hello! Thank you for sparing your time for this interview. Would you tell me a bit about yourself?
Hi my name is Quy. I am now a lecturer at university of languages and international studies, Vietnam National University- Hanoi. My major is pedagogy but I have a special interest in environmental issues. I also launch some projects relating to environmental protection and awareness.

Alright Quy, I’m writing a blog about development. When you hear the word “development”, what does come up in your mind?
Oh for me the word development means a lot of things. I think of changes people make regarding different aspects like awareness, economy, education, political issues. Take education, for example. This is the application of technology, new methods which take students as the centers of learning, new approaches in teaching foreign languages but also about the self- development of students in the way they think of values of education for themselves so they can be self-disciplined, self-motivated and successful.

Merchant near Hanoi Bridge

Would you kindly share about the situation in Vietnam?
In Vietnam education is a core things which make the process of development slow in various aspects.  We have reached certain changes which made us proud, of course but a long way head to truly inspire new generations to be more proactive and confident to make changes.

That’s a very insightful explanations. I agree that education indeed plays a big role. As an individual, how do you think you can contribute to development?
I see myself have more responsibilities to contribute to making small and day by day changes. It comes from helping my students to realize the importance of overcoming comfort zone, understand the situation of themselves, of their communities, what they like and want to develop. Regarding environmental aspects, I focus on kids and awareness to help kids understand the value of Mother Nature. Not by big actions or lengthy papers of theory, but by going and really doing it (collect garbage, use less plastic, etc.). It helps to develop the environment but also all other things.

I’m impressed by your actions and aspirations. Let’s imagine a hypothetical situation where you were chosen to attend a meeting of world’s leaders talking about development agenda. What would you say to them?
Oh such an interesting question. I always see development as something we should do from small actions. So, I think my agenda is to stop discussing on the table. I would say, “Everyone let’s stop discussing on the table. Let’s stand up and do something meaningful towards the development future for anything you are interested in such as economy, education, and environment. If we talk about equality enhancement, let’s treat women and the poor well right after getting out of this room. If we truly care for our environment, let’s collect garbage whenever you see.”

In general, development agenda is discussed in high-level meetings by the elites. Often times, this gives a little room for views from grassroots and practitioners. Quy’s perspectives on development accentuate the importance of daily actions and contribution at individual level to achieve development.

MD

Leave a Reply

